A NEW and INTERESTING PROJECT

This house we have taken has a glass enclosed porch on the back. My sister who hoards about everything has a 12’ long set of growing shelves with growlights and lots of orchids and African violets plus a couple of other things. --In a nutshell I now have them [actually 9’ of them], she wound up with no place to put them. So my glass enclosed porch Is now a greenhouse. I also brought In my potted herbs Including oregano, ginger, basil, Chives and french tarragon. So now I am studying about orchids of all types and how to kill them slowly. BY the way that tarragon is REALLY strong, the porch aroma is great.

1 Like

Orchids are parasitical. Beautiful, but like most parasites, eventually kills its host.

yeah, they reside in crumbled bark, so far Cattalyas, Cymbidiums, and another one I can’t remember the name of. they were left derelict so I am performing CPR [as it were] one desert Rose which dearly needed water.and some Christmas Cacti, one floor Schefflera, and a Norfolk Island Pine [ about 7’] and an Indian Rubber plant that desperately needs air rooting. [8’]
[ and so to bed just talking about it made me tired]

1 Like

I love African Violets, but I’ve killed every one I ever had. I love Jade plants and just about any other kind of succulent. Burrow (donkey?) tails are also one of my favorites. I actually had a Christmas cacti in Florida which bloomed. Very beautiful.

African Violets require very little care, good indirect light, allow to dry slightly, between waterings and just leave them alone. they should do well.

1 Like

Right. Except I have the uncanny ability to kill even weeds. I don’t know what I did or didn’t do, but every African Violet I ever had died. I was told to never water them from the top, only from the bottom, but no matter what I did, they all died. The only plants I could ever grow were philodendrums and succulents.