Any old Navy Radiomen here?

Remember the old, even in the sixties, TBA’s, TBL’s, TBK’s? Now those were fun to set up on frequency and power up!

Also the TCS’s, and SRT’s! These were not so old at the time.

I’m not an Old Navy Radioman but I am an old ham operator that has known several ex-Navy radiomen.

Conservative Libertarian, Are you familiar with any of the transmitters I listed?

I’m not directly familiar with them. However, they do sound familiar wrt being military type equipment.

One thing that I have picked up through the years is a heavy OD green case that I believe to be a morse code practice set as well as being a CW keying unit. If I can dig up a model# from it, I’ll post it. It had some straight keys in the case as well as some CW related tone generators.

I was on watch in the radio shack (Main Comm) when the secret flash message came in that Thresher was missing. Sad time:sad:

It’s been so long ago. When I left the Navy I left it all behind me but brings back fond memories in my senior years. I used the KW-37 many times encrypting and decrypting call signs. I never mentioned the KW-37 for decades then it was on news one night about how the Walker family had sold it to the Soviets before I was even in the Navy. They had that machine that encrypted and decrypted our most secret communications, but they also needed more info to use it and that info changed constantly and randomly. The KW-37 itself was only one part of the key. They never had the ability to read our classified info in real time.

I spent hours practicing on a CW simulator, don’t remember the official Navy name for it.