ATTN Women and People of Color - Can you help?

Hello,

I am a psychology student working on a self-reflective project (This is not for publication - only my own exploration). I am interested in women and people of color’s experience as political conservatives and/or Republicans. If you identify as any of these and could answer some of the following questions, I would be greatly appreciative. Thanks in advance!

1. What do you think is most misunderstood about members of your party?
  2. What would you most like people to know about members of your party?
  3. How do you see yourself within the party?
  4. Do you ever feel as if you are judged negatively for your participation in the Republican party? If so, how? Examples?

SPAM!

Welcome, helpmeunderstand. I am a woman–conservative–and I feel just fine! :slight_smile:

CL: I remember that skit! I was a very young woman at the time!

I think it would be better for you to tell us about yourself before you start asking questions here. Why don’t you fill out your “survey” in the upper right hand corner of your name? We like to learn more about new members before we start answering questions…

I have filled out my profile in hopes that it is useful to members. To tell you a bit more, I likely have different political views than most members here; however, I am open and seeking to have a better understanding of what it is like to be politically conservative. I think both parties likely misunderstand one another which leads to unnecessary and counterproductive anger and frustration. I simply hope to get a sense of what it is like to be conservative/Republican and how you feel perceived by others…I hope that helps to clarify.