Languages

What languages do you speak/ are learning/ learnt in the past / hope to learn in the future?

I speak Russian and English fluently, began learning Polish in February. Haven’t had a chance to be instructed in it properly but due to how closely related it is to Russian I can already hold simple conversations and read (albeit very slowly, with a dictionary). A girl from my year taught me the basics in exchange for me speaking Russian with her to get her conversational level up (before she goes off for a year abroad in Siberia O_O). If I devote enough time to expanding my vocabulary this summer I should have it at a proper conversational level by term-time, but their grammatical system is very complicated compared to Russian and especially compared to English so fluency will take classes with a proper teacher to achieve.

I studied French for a few years in school but all I remember is voulez vous coucher avec moi and some other random bits.

I speak English! lol I took a couple of Latin classes, but I am sure I forgot a lot of it by now.

You would be a good candidate for a secret spy/military agency.

Only English.

I’m glad my Russian girlfriend speaks fluent English and Russian though, otherwise life here in St. Petersburg would be a lot tougher than it is. )

You live in St. Pete?? Lucky, I actually prefer it in some ways to the capital. How long have you been an expat in Russia for?
Oh and lucky you with a Russian girlfriend, now I understand why you asked if I prefer Polish.

Don’t know if I’m made out for secret work, but I am very much considering officer school after university.

I’ve been living here on and off since February 2011. More than a year but less than a year and a half in total. It really is a beautiful city. One of the most impressive in Europe and I’ve pretty much seen them all. Was out at the Peter and Paul fortress today. My first time there.