Not A Bug, Not A Suggestion


#1

Maybe I just don’t know how to use search but I’ve tried finding out exactly what that auto save pop up is for when posting?

No, strike that!

I ‘Know’ what auto save means … I just don’t understand ‘why’ it’s there?

You can preview or edit your own posts so I don’t understand the need for the feature?

Too … In the auto save mode, I can’t seem to move or delete a ‘smiliey’?

Can you disable the feature?

Thanks


#2

I think the auto-save function came with the current version of VBulletin that RO uses. I’m not sure about the smiley issue. I’ve been able to move/delete them. I guess WhoIsJohnGalt will have to look at it.


#3

[quote=“Fantasy_Chaser, post:2, topic:38015”]
I think the auto-save function came with the current version of VBulletin that RO uses. I’m not sure about the smiley issue. I’ve been able to move/delete them. I guess WhoIsJohnGalt will have to look at it.
[/quote]The ‘smiley moving’ part is one that I will play around with.

I’d just like to disable that ‘annoying’ auto save pop up.

Thanks for your reply!


#4

Ping this thread again on Saturday if I don’t reply back before then. Will take a look.


#5

`
I have found the AutoSave feature to be very very useful and it has saved me from losing my posts more times than I can remember over my some 4400 posts here at RO. I have hit the wrong button accidentally and therefore exited RO accidentally, or lost the page entirely, only to return to RO a few minutes later and click on Restore Auto-Saved Content and my entire post would instantly re-appear in the posting block.

What you just read was put back in this posting block using the Restore Auto-Saved Content. Only this time I deliberately left the site and when I returned, there was the Restore Auto-Saved Content button waiting for me to click and restore that first paragraph up there.

I have noticed the Restore Auto-Saved Content works as long as you do NOT Log Out of RO, once you Log Out then your posts are gone for good, it appears.

The Auto-save is a great feature and I’d hate to see it go away.

Cheers.


#6

[quote=“Jack_Hectormann, post:5, topic:38015”]
`
I have found the AutoSave feature to be very very useful and it has saved me from losing my posts more times than I can remember over my some 4400 posts here at RO. I have hit the wrong button accidentally and therefore exited RO accidentally, or lost the page entirely, only to return to RO a few minutes later and click on Restore Auto-Saved Content and my entire post would instantly re-appear in the posting block.

What you just read was put back in this posting block using the Restore Auto-Saved Content. Only this time I deliberately left the site and when I returned, there was the Restore Auto-Saved Content button waiting for me to click and restore that first paragraph up there.

I have noticed the Restore Auto-Saved Content works as long as you do NOT Log Out of RO, once you Log Out then your posts are gone for good, it appears.

The Auto-save is a great feature and I’d hate to see it go away.

Cheers.
[/quote]I don’t want it to go away … I’d just like to be able to disable it.


#7

Hello sillipuddi, hope you are doing well, and btw let me take this opportunity to welcome you to RO, the best posting board on the web.

“You can preview or edit your own posts so I don’t understand the need for the feature?”__sillipuddi

The feature is very useful for those of us who write extended pieces that we end up putting in our Blogs. The feature prevents us from losing those pieces forever or having to spend hours re-writing them if they have some depth and length to them.

“Too … In the auto save mode, I can’t seem to move or delete a ‘smiliey’?”__sillipuddi

I’m not a PC whizz, but I don’t think the Auto-Save feature has anything to do with the trouble you’re having with the smileys.

Cheers.


#8

Sometimes I am posting from my travel travel trailer up North where the only internet connection I have for my laptop is tethered to my phone, this connection is not that reliable so sometimes when I click “post” it times out without posting.

The “Auto Save” enables me to click the back button and retry, I assumed it accomplished this by adding what I type to a “cookie” on my machine until it successfully post’s to the site.

If your machine keeps restoring things you have edited out then in may have something to do with your cookie settings or browser of choice, just a guess since I have never managed Vbulletin.