Rand Paul: What do you think of this statement?

I have very little knowledge of Rand Paul or his father and their stand on certain issues. I am skeptical about libertarians because they all seem to have different ideas about certain issues. For me, the abortion issue is the determining factor of whether a candidate gets my vote. (I can hear the howls of disgust by some republicans who think we “so-cons” should be driven out of the republican party tarred and feathered…) Libertarians seem to have a much more varied opinion about this and other social conservative points. Can anyone clarify this for me?

Rand Paul outlines agenda, potential 2016 presidential platform in Reagan Library speech - Washington Times

The Paul’s are 100% pro-life. Both support the idea of “jurisdiction stripping”, which is Congress specifying what federal courts can and cannot rule on. The Constitution allows for restrictions on the courts to be put in place. Essentially, they would have Congress nullify Roe V. Wade.

There is a difference between the two on how to ban abortion. Ron Paul would have it done on the state level, as he believes that is the only Constitutional way. Rand believes it would be Constitutional for the federal government to ban it.

Bottom line: Either way would save millions of babies. The standard Republican hope having the SCOTUS reverse Roe V. Wadeon its own is a pipe dream and it will never happen. Other brances of government must take action.

As for libertarians in general… libertarians look at the issue of abortion from he perspective of individual rights. Pro-life libertarians believe the baby is a person and it’s individual rights must not be violated, while pro-choice libertarians don’t view the baby as a person and believe abortion restrictions infringe on the woman’s rights. This is an issue where libertarians are heavily split on.