The Punditty Project joins the discussion

Greetings,

I’m a political writer/editor for the website Allvoices.com, where I administer a political writing contest called The American Pundit. I can’t post links yet, so I will just say that we welcome well-written columns from people of all political persuasions.

I cast my first vote in 1984, at age 20 (Gary Hart in the 1984 Missouri caucuses) and have voted for members of several parties since then, including Democrats, Republicans, Greens and Libertarians. I am currently registered as a Libertarian and voted for Gary Johnson in the last election. I don’t agree with a lot of what the Libertarians stand for, just as I don’t agree with a lot of what the Democrats, Greens or Republicans stand for, but I thought Johnson was the most qualified candidate for the job in 2012.

Having said that, I will go down the line and answer the introduction questions.

1. What state do you vote in?

California

1. Are you, or were you ever a member of the armed forces?

Yes, Army National Guard, 1984-1990

1. Does your username have any meaning?

Yes, my Allvoices.com user name is “Punditty,” and I use “The Punditty Project” in several online incarnations.

1. What are 3 or more of your favorite books (not necessarily in order)?

That’s impossible to answer since I’ve enjoyed so many, so I will answer with a twist on the question. In 2012, I began listening to audiobooks while driving (everyone needs a break from politics sometimes, right?) and have listened to about 25 since then. I will list my three favorites, in order.

“11/22/63” by Stephen King. Not only is the storyline among King’s best, Craig Wasson does an excellent job as narrator. There’s a section at the end where King talks about his own personal beliefs regarding the JFK assassination.