Was It Really So Much Better Then?

Having heard this again after so many years, I still get sentimental tears and wonder … How the #ell can this generation depend on Rap for similar fond memories?

What a beautiful voice Judith has!

Yes Has … because looking them up (The Seekers), she is still performing!
(75 years old)

That’s music. Rap is not music. I can’t stand it. It’s UGLY.

I’ve been asking that same question for well over 20 years now. How can rap crap POSSIBLY compare?

It’s hard to find other genres that share my passion for plastic bubble packaging:

I don’t understand how this bothers people so much. I mean, I haven’t seen my generation “depend on rap” for anything, at all. It’s just another style that people are free to listen to, or not listen to. I mean, there is so much choice on what to listen to since the age of the intertubes that getting all upset over a single style seems… so very very dumb.

Oh… right, forgot this was a thing. Carry on…

I don’t think it’s the “music” itself. I agree with you there: Just don’t listen to it.

But it IS the “culture” it represents. For the most part, these rappers are sponsoring, and in many cases encouraging, criminal behavior, or at least bad behavior.

Listen to the “lyrics” sometime. It encourages things like treating women poorly, racism (the REAL thing), murder, and violence in general.

Again, you or I can dial this out, but to many youths, these people are heroes and the “culture” they represent is being lauded by them.

That’s the insidiousness of the rap hip-hop gangs. Some of the wealthiest rappers have long histories of violence and crime. Jay-Z, Beyoncé’s husband is a prime example. Tupac and Biggie Smalls are two more. Look into the murders of both these men and you’ll see that the malignancy goes all the way to the top of the heap. It’s nothing but trash and a way to rob kids of their allowance monies.

It’s not exclusive to Crap. I mean Rap. Sorry.